Skip to content

Ouray Remembered

January 16, 2009

A view of Ouray Colorado

I try to plan a road trip each summer when school is out. I value the good ole road trip. I feel like I can escape reality, be selfish, and, well actually, the list is lengthy. Without one I would go mad.

I have been to Ouray, Colorado 3 times now, and each time I fall in love more. This little town is nestled down in the San Juan mountain range about 80 mi. north of Durango. Much of the old is preserved and few new buildings seem to have been added. This time through I stopped at the Buen Tiempo Mexican Restaurant & Cantina. This south west/tex mex restaurant had some of the best enchiladas that I have ever forked into my mouth. While there I witnessed quite an odd ritual. Patrons would give their waitress a $1, $5, personally saw a $20, for her to wrap around a metal object and then shoot it to the ceiling via a napkin. The bill and metal hit the wood above, maybe 15 ft, with a deafening thud. Metal would drop and bill would stay.where are my stilts! Oddly, she was super busy with a group of boys heading out to one of the jeep trails.

penn

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

