Skip to content

New camera, new images, not really a test

April 15, 2009

I sold off my major hardware recently in an attempt to go lighter and simpler. My aging Canon 5D was a trusty work horse, but the size, weight, and the constant requests for pro-bono work from everyone that knew I was a photographer started to sour the taste of making imagery. I need a new spark. I need to fly under the radar for a while and begin to make photographs for me again. I wanted a small, stealthy and unique digital camera. What I found was the new Panasonic DMC LX3, a small 10mp digital wonder. It has a Leica 24mm, f2.0 lens with manual controls and the ability to record images in color and black & white. 

lumix-lx3-vf1

 

The lens is what sealed the deal for me. Having a 24mm on such a small camera is a huge plus. I haven’t put it through the paces yet, and I am really just getting started to know this camera. As a teacher/artist, most of my art is made in the summer months, so I look forward to the work that is ahead….

This is a quick image from my balcony in Florida during spring break

lx3-test

 

More to follow….

 

penn

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

