Skip to content

at my fathers

April 17, 2009

I spent only a brief time at my fathers place last time I was in Illinois. Mom and dad are divorced (since I was 11) and sometimes it is hard to balance time spent with each so that they both feel like they have not been cheated. My dad is a unique retired art professor and has been suffering the effects of Parkinson’s Disease for the past 8 years. We are close, but distant at the same time and I know we are both thinking that we should have worked on a deeper connection earlier in life. I really want to write about my understanding of our relationship and produce a volume of work as well, but I have yet to get my head around it. It is very personal and I want to do it right. Maybe I will run out of time which will take care of my being able to do it, but I hope not as I really want to connect in some way. Here are some phone images made during my last visit.

dadoutside

dads1

dadiron

dads3

 

penn

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

